Confession #4: Revisions How I Loathe Thee

24 Feb

Part of writing anything is revision. Whether it’s a novel, a short story or even catalog copy, you’ll probably drive yourself crazy with revisions. I feel like I’m having PTSD flashbacks of Reporting (the second most dropped class at the University of Florida) as I’m sitting here at my desk trying to revise my catalog copy. I can all to vividly remember sitting in that computer lab in Weimar Hall praying that there weren’t any fact errors in my story and that my commas were all actually necessary. I still have nightmares about it two years later. And I still struggle with commas. Personally, I think that they should be used for dramatic effect only and have no bearing on actual grammar. I might be alone in this opinion, but I think it’s a pretty valid one.

I’ve been dealing a lot with revision this week from my creative writing workshop and my internship. So I thought I would put together a list of tips on how to deal with it. Everyone is going to have to face it at some point or another. The important thing is handling it well and learning from it.

  1. It’s not personal. When someone tells you to  make changes, it’s probably because every word you wrote is not as divinely inspired as you believe . It’s because they want to help you become a better writer. It is not because they have a personally vendetta against you.
  2. Take a step back. Let your piece sit for a few hours or days depending on how much time you actually have. Fresh eyes make everything better. You’ll see things in a new light and better be able to make changes.
  3. Every point is valid. If someone points out a problem with your piece, then most likely there’s a legitimate problem. You are not your own audience. Of course you understand every word. You’re the one who wrote it. The thing is, it doesn’t matter if you understand it. What matters is that everyone else does.
  4. Really, it’s not personal. Don’t think it is. Don’t get majorly offended when someone tells you that your tone is wrong for the character or totally marks up your piece with a red pen. It’s not that they hate you or your work. It’s that they are trying to make it the best it can be, and consequently make you the best you can be.
  5. Be open-minded. Go into any revision session open to what everyone has to say. Don’t go into it combative. Everyone will only get frustrated, and you won’t get the helpful criticism you need.
  6. Let the criticism you receive marinate. Don’t immediately start making changes. Think long and hard about what was said to you before you start ripping your piece apart. You’ll only make yourself crazy doing that.
  7. Remember that it’s only one person, or even a few people’s, opinion. While you should listen to everyone’s advice, that doesn’t mean you have to take it. In some cases, like when you’re at your internship writing catalog copy, you do have to accept all the changes. But in that case your boss has been doing this a lot longer than you have and knows what he’s doing far more than you do. Most of the time though, you are still the author and it’s still your artistic integrity. Do what feels right in your gut. 

If it’s not already clear, the important thing to remember is that it’s really not personal.  Your writing can always be better. Whether you are a best-selling novelist, a journalist, or a struggling writer just trying to get some attention, your writing can always be cleaner, flow better and generally just improve. The best writers are the ones who can take and apply criticism the best.

Leave a comment